Finding Magic in the Kitchen: How Cooking Became My Creative Outlet and Coping Mechanism

A Personal Journey Through the Joy and Passion of Culinary Artistry

Thatcoffeeaddikt
2 min readMar 31, 2023
Photo by Duane Mendes on Unsplash

There’s a certain magic that happens in the kitchen when you’re cooking. It’s a feeling that can’t be replicated by any other means. And for me, that magic started when I was just a kid, watching my mother work her culinary magic.

It all started with my love for the art of adding elements to create a dish. Cooking is an endeavor that creates memories, and a dish is a canvas that you get to play with. I watched in awe as my mother effortlessly mixed ingredients and colors, textures and smells to create something new and exciting every time. That’s when I first fell in love with cooking.

As I grew older, I started experimenting with recipes on my own, finding peace and exhilaration in the process. Cooking became a way for me to express myself, to create something that was uniquely mine. I would pour myself a glass of wine, put on some music, and get lost in the process of creating something delicious.

But my love for cooking didn’t truly blossom until I left home and moved out on my own at a young age. Living alone meant that I had to learn how to cook for myself, and I relished the opportunity. I started trying out new recipes and techniques, expanding my culinary horizons with each new dish.

As I traveled a different country and experienced new cultures, my love for food and cooking only grew. I sought out new flavors and ingredients, and learned to combine them in exciting new ways. And when I got married and started a family of my own, cooking became even more important to me.

Now, when the world gets crazy and life gets hectic, I turn to my kitchen for solace. I put on my favorite playlist, pour myself a good espresso, and lose myself in the process of creating something delicious. Cooking has become my favorite creative outlet, and a coping mechanism that always leaves me feeling recharged and refreshed.

It’s hard to describe the feeling of being in the kitchen, surrounded by the sights and smells of your favorite ingredients. But for me, it’s a feeling of pure joy and passion. It’s a reminder of the simple pleasures in life, and the power that food has to bring people together.

So whether I’m making a classic family recipe or experimenting with new flavors, I approach each dish with the same level of care and attention to detail. Because for me, cooking is more than just a hobby — it’s a way of life.

--

--

Thatcoffeeaddikt

Storyteller, Ad Enthusiast, Automotive Aficionado, and a Cook. I write freely, rarely editing. Awards? Yes, but they don’t define me.